Jackson’s Department Store opened in Reading in 1875. The store was best-known for its traditional approach to customer service, where its customers would be served by staff from handmade wooden cabinets. Generations of school children – as well as Scouts, Guides, and Brownies – all flocked to Jacksons for their latest uniforms.
Jacksons remained a family-owned business for 138 years, until the shop closed for the final time in 2013. The building still stands tall over its eponymous Jacksons Corner, and was recently redeveloped into apartments and retail space. As part of this, the famous Hollywood-style signage has been retained and preserved so that Jacksons Corner will live on as a Reading landmark for generations to come.
Jacksons of Reading is a community display created by Thomas Macey. Mr Macey has an unrivalled knowledge of the shop’s history and served for many years on the shop's floor. The display features two precise replica models (commissioned by Mr Macey) of Jacksons Corner and the early shopfront, as well as Mr Macey’s unique collection of Jackson’s ephemera and artefacts. It guarantees a journey down memory lane for visitors both young and old.
Discover the display in the Show and Tell community case from the 23rd November 2021 to the 7th May 2022.